Developing your creative spirit

August 1, 2007 at 10:20 pm | Posted in journal entries | Leave a comment

How does someone learn to be an artist, to develop their creativity and aesthetic sense? It frustrates me so much to have all these feelings, dreams, thoughts that I want to express but I can’t get them to come out properly when I try my hand at something creative. Since early childhood I’ve felt as if I should be creating something, that I was meant to be an artist of some kind. I think I was given a creative soul but that God forgot to give me the talent I’d need to express that creativity. Maybe my problem is that I’m a perfectionist at heart. I expect to immediately be good at things when in fact it takes time to develop these skills.

I keep reminding myself of these quotes:

“Every artist was first an amateur.”- Ralph Waldo Emerson

“Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes. Art is knowing which ones to keep. “-Scott Adams

“An artist cannot fail; it is a success just to be one.“-Charles Horton Cooley

“Only those who attempt the absurd will achieve the impossible.”-M. C. Escher

“If you hear a voice within you say “you cannot paint,” then by all means paint, and that voice will be silenced. “-Vincent Van Gogh

“You don’t know how much artists go through to make it look so easy. It’s all in the practice.“-Lauryn Hill

“Everyone has talent. What is rare is the courage to follow that talent to the dark place where it leads.-Erica Jong



Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

